Belmore is a suburb of Sydney in the state of New South Wales, Australia and covers an area of 2.731 square kilometres. It is named after the fourth Earl of Belmore, governor of New South Wales from 1868-1872. Belmore is located 14 kilometres south-west of the Sydney central business district, in the local government area of the Canterbury-Bankstown Council and has a recorded population of 12718 residents. Having a mix of residential, commercial and industrial developments, it is falls within the Australian Eastern Daylight Time zone Australia/Sydney.